Tuna Salad with Apples, Walnuts, Broccoli, and Dill (vegetarian alternative suggested)

IMG_2170

Today I was going to be my “day off” in the kitchen, and I was going to buckle down on my Spanish studies. I had some beans I prepared a few days ago, and for dinner I was simply going to heat them up in the pan with egg and onion for the traditional huevitos con frijoles, one of my favorite “day off” meals to make. No one is unsatisfied…unless someone had eggs for both breakfast and lunch. But late in the afternoon when I went to the fridge to get the beans, the tupperware container was all bulged out. I immediately recalled Mr. Weiland, my 9th grade Biology teacher, and his lesson on botulism, and I threw those babies out. I couldn’t remember exactly when I made those beans, but it doesn’t feel like too long ago. Dang it! So it was 4pm, and I didn’t want to think very hard to prepare something, I didn’t want to go out to a restaurant, and I didn’t want to eat those delicious but not so nutritious Choco Krispies we just bought.

IMG_2160IMG_2167

Tuna is something we usually have in the pantry, and we had some broccoli left over from Fondue the night before, dill left over from the tatziki, and we always have apples and walnuts (or some type of nut). It is like a Waldorf tuna salad with dill. I was a little concerned of all the ingredients mixing well, but it turned out to be divine — a refreshing combination of sweet, savory, crunchy, creamy. We ate it on pan de agua, a very light fluffy white bread common in Guatemala, with lettuce, and accompanied with homemade potato chips. It is packed full of nutrients, veggies, fiber, omega 3-fatty acids, protein, vitamins. A simple last minute meal, perfect for lunches, perfect for when your beans go bad.

A vegetarian alternative would be cannelloni (or white) beans in place of the tuna.

Tuna Salad with Apple, Brocooli, Walnuts, an Dill Yogurt Dressing

Ingredients:IMG_2162
2 cans Albacore tuna in water (chicken is yummy too)
Handful of tiny broccoli florets, blanched (I remove the stems, but please don’t waste them!)
1 medium apple, chopped (I used Fuji)
1/2 cup toasted walnuts (or pine nuts, pistachios, hazelnuts, ect)
3 dates, roughly chopped (or rasins, cranberries, but all is optional)
1/4 cup fresh dill, minced (cilantro may be nice as well, and parsley you can’t go wrong)
3/4 cup plain yogurt of your choice
2 tablespoons strong brown mustard
Salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

Directions:
Drain the tuna. Mix together all ingredients throughly. See, that was easy.

Leave a Reply

