Red Onion Rosemary Flatbread

IMG_2297

I don’t know if I would call this a cracker, a flat bread, or just an attempt to save some leftover bread dough that didn’t fit into our tiny toaster oven. After I made a loaf of my bran bread, I had a softball-sized wad of dough just sitting in the fridge. I was going to bake a mini-loaf, but then thinking about the chickpea salad we were having for dinner, realized a cracker might for spreading the garlic and the juices at the bottom of the bowl. So I rolled the chilled dough out as flat as I could get it, and rubbed it with olive oil on both sides. Chopped some fresh rosemary from my herb garden (the first harvest yet!), slivered some red onion, and sprinkled on some queso seco (finely grated parmasean or romano would work perfectly), and sea salt. Baked it for 20 minutes until crisp, and cut into finger-length pedacitos.

IMG_2248IMG_2256

I won’t post the recipe, because it’s really all to your liking. You may use a bread dough you are comfortable with, you may use pre-made pizza dough, you may even just mix together 2 cups flour, 1 teaspoon instant yeast (or 1/2 teaspoon baking soda or nothing at all), 3/4 teaspoon salt, 1/2 cup water, and 2 tablespoons olive oil; mix, let rest for about an hour, and roll out into a thin thin sheet. You can use whatever toppings you like. Many fresh herbs would be lovely on this, such as sage or thyme, but I just wanted to use my new rosemary plant. Be creative, or use what you have around the house.

It’s delicious with hummus, babaganoush, roasted garlic spread, zucchini tatziki, an assortment of cheeses, ect. Yum!!

Bread-base suggestions: my healty bran bread, homemade or packaged pizza dough, a simple dough of flour water and olive oil (see above), or even puff pastry.

Topping suggestions: olive oil, large grain sea salt, cumin and zest of a lime, za’atar, paprika, cayenne, sesame seeds, pine nuts (pressed in), poppy seeds, sliced olives, thyme, rosemary, sage, a variety of cheeses (shredded), thinly sliced red onion.

Bake: 400ºF for 15-20 minutes until crispy, or according to other recipe instructions.

Leave a Reply

